Call for free Consultation

(636) 519-0085
(866) 519-0085

Hire a St. Louis DWI Lawyer who Focuses on DWI and DUI Offenses

If you or a family member has been charged with DWI, you deserve to have an experienced and dedicated St. Louis DWI defense lawyer on your side.

The Law Offices of Kevin J. Roach, L.L.C., an aggressive DWI defense law firm based in St. Louis, has successfully defended thousands of individuals charged with DWI and DUI across the State of Missouri.

Missouri’s Implied Consent Law: You May Only Have 15 Days to Save Your License

Missouri’s implied consent law requires you to take a chemical test if you are arrested for DWI. Under this law, if the arresting officer had probable cause to believe that you were driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you automatically consent to a blood, urine, or breath test to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC) as soon as possible. Although you cannot be forced to take the test and have the right to refuse.

Should You Refuse the Breathalyzer?

This is by far the most common question people have when getting pulled over and arrested for DWI or DUI in Missouri. I have handled thousands of DWI and DUI cases in the St. Louis area and I can say with confidence that it is always better to refuse the Breathalyzer if you are under the Influence (over .08). This is especially true for first offense DWI refusals because in most cases if you act within 15 days you can prevent any action from being taken against your driver's license.

The officer will advise you that if you refuse to take a test, or if the results of the test you took were above the state’s prohibited level (.08% if over age 21; .02% if under 21), the state will revoke your license for one (1) year (a chemical revocation), although you will be given a temporary driving permit good for only 15 days. However, what they don’t tell you is if you hire a DWI lawyer and file a stay order and petition for review you may not lose your license at all.

Another reason to refuse the breath, blood, or urine test is because there is enhanced punishment for people with high BACs in Missouri. For instance, if you blow above .19 many courts try to impose jail time, community service or other punishment not given to refusals or people with lower BACs. People who blow .17 or higher are also required to complete SATOP level II a weekend intervention program normally not required for first time offenders with lower BACs.

What’s at Stake?

We understand that your license, your job, and your freedom are important to you and we will fight to help you save them. Being charged with a DWI or DUI does not necessarily mean that you are guilty of drunk driving. While the state may have a qualified team of police officers, government lawyers, and scientists trying their best to convict you of driving while intoxicated, a highly skilled St Louis DWI defense lawyer will fight for your rights every step of the way.

You were Arrested – Now What?

When a person is cited for a DWI or DUI in Missouri, two separate sections of state law oversee the arrest and the suspension of driving privileges:

      • The criminal charge brought by the city or state in which you are stopped that deals with the ticket that you were issued. When a driver is convicted of an alcohol offense, points will be assessed to their driving record and, depending on the point total, their driving privileges may be suspended or revoked.
      • The civil lawsuit brought against your driver’s license by the Director of the Missouri Department of Revenue. If you don’t take timely action this can result in an automatic suspension or revocation of your driving privileges imposed by administrative law, even if the ticket was disposed of in court or reduced to a lesser charge.

These proceedings occur simultaneously and both have a severe impact on your driving record and quality of life.

Drunken driving cases rise or fall based upon the facts of each case, and the quality of your defense depends on the details and facts available to your lawyer. There are two primary sources for this information: you and your arresting officer’s police report. Thus, it is very important that you share all of the details and facts surrounding your case with your St. Louis DWI defense lawyer.

We Defend DWI and DUI Charges Throughout the St. Louis Metro Area

Attorney Kevin Roach serves clients throughout the State of Missouri and in the areas of St. Louis, St. Louis County, St. Charles City, St. Charles County, Jefferson County, Franklin County, and cities such as Arnold, Ballwin, Breckenridge Hills, Brentwood, Bridgeton, Chesterfield, Clarkson Valley, Clayton, Cottleville, Crestwood, Creve Coeur, Des Peres, Ellisville, Eureka, Fenton, Florissant, Frontenac, Glendale, Hazelwood, Hillsboro, Jennings, Kirkwood, Ladue, Lake St. Louis, Manchester, Maplewood, Maryland Heights, O’Fallon, Olivette, Overland, Pacific, Richmond Heights, Rock Hill, Shrewsbury, St. Ann, St. John, St. Peters, St. Charles City, St. Charles County, Sunset Hills, Town and Country, Union, University City, Valley Park, Webster Groves, Wentzville, and Wildwood.

Contact a St. Louis DWI Defense Lawyer Today

If you are arrested for DWI in Missouri, you should immediately ask to speak to a St. Louis DWI defense lawyer, who will explain your rights and the consequences of the charges pending against you. Kevin J. Roach is a St. Louis DWI defense attorney who has successfully represented thousands of individuals charged with DWI and DUI in the St. Louis Metro area. We understand the charges you are facing and we will fight to protect your rights and ensure the best possible outcome. Contact our office to schedule a free initial case evaluation today.

Hire a St. Louis DWI Lawyer who Focuses on DWI and DUI Offenses

If you or a family member has been charged with DWI, you deserve to have an experienced and dedicated DWI lawyer on your side.

The Law Offices of Kevin J. Roach, L.L.C., an aggressive DWI defense law firm based in St. Louis, has successfully defended thousands of individuals charged with DWI and DUI across the State of Missouri.

Missouri’s Implied Consent Law: You May Only Have 15 Days to Save Your License

Missouri’s implied consent law requires you to take a chemical test if you are arrested for DWI. Under this law, if the arresting officer had probable cause to believe that you were driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you automatically consent to a blood, urine, orbreath test to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC) as soon as possible. Although you cannot be forced to take the test and have the right to refuse.

Should You Refuse the Breathalyzer?

This is by far the most common question people have when getting pulled over and arrested for DWI or DUI in Missouri. I have handled thousands of DWI and DUI cases in the St. Louis area and I can say with confidence that it is always better to refuse the Breathalyzer you are under the Influence (over .08). This is especially true for first offense DWI refusals because in most cases if you act within 15 days you can prevent any action from being taken against your driver's license.

The officer will advise you that if you refuse to take a test, or if the results of the test you took were above the state’s prohibited level (.08% if over age 21; .02% if under 21), the state will revoke your license for one (1) year (a chemical revocation), although you will be given a temporary driving permit good for only 15 days. However, what they don’t tell you is if you hire a DWI lawyer and file a stay order and petition for review you may not lose your license at all.

Another reason to refuse the breath, blood, or urine test is because there is enhanced punishment for people with high BACs in Missouri. For instance, if you blow above .19 many courts try to impose jail time, community service or other punishment not given to refusals or people with lower BACs. People who blow .17 or higher are also required to complete SATOP level II a weekend intervention program normally not required for first time offenders with lower BACs.

What’s at Stake?

We understand that your license, your job, and your freedom are important to you and we will fight to help you save them. Being charged with a DWI or DUI does not necessarily mean that you are guilty of drunk driving. While the state may have a qualified team of police officers, government lawyers, and scientists trying their best to convict you of driving while intoxicated, a highly skilled DWI lawyer will fight for your rights every step of the way.

 

Free Initial Consultation

Invalid Email
Invalid Number
national association of criminal defense attorneys
Top 100 trial lawyers auto accident